Department History, Los Angeles county Fire Department, presented by Los Angeles county Fire Museum



Not a complete listing yet

Gary Davis
(Gary is one of our Docents!)

Firefighter Roy Rodriquez
Fire Suppression Aid Steven Kuch

Captain Larry Collins
Firefighter Specialist Collin Cook

Firefighter Todd Mitcham

Firefighter Specialist Ron McFadden

Firefighter Specialist Ron McFadden
Firefighter Paramedic Jeff Britton

Captain Glenn Rockey (Posthumously)

Fire Captain Daniel McKeen
Firefighter Paramedic Matt Prasch
Fire Captain Mark Roberts
Firefighter Paramedic Leo Harris

Battalion Chief Gerald Gonzales
Firefighter Connor Bauman

Deputy Chief Jon O’Brien
Battalion Chief Brian Bennett
Fire Captain Michael Le
Fire Captain James LeClair
Fire Captain Mark McCurdy
Firefighter Specialist Tony Carcioppolo
Firefighter Specialist Octavio Corona
Firefighter Brent Glonchak
Firefighter Todd Hood
Firefighter Eric Marrufo

Woolsey Fire Rescue

Fire Captain Peter Finnerty
Fire Captain Christopher Siok

Fire Fighter Henry Diaz
Fire Fighter Jennifer Teer
Fire Fighter Katherine Whitby



The LACoFD Medal of ValorTo formally Recognize act of of bravery exhibited during Fire Department responses, Fire Chief P. Michael Freeman introduced the Medal of Valor Awards Program in 1995. The Medal of Valor Awards are presented based on established criteria andeveluated by the Department’s Medal of Valor Committee.

The Medal of Valor is the highest honor bestowed upon a member of the Department.  It is given to uniformed personnel in the Department who exhibit courage above and beyond the call of duty, risking their life to save another under conditions that put them at extreme personal risk.

The Certificate of Valor is bestowed upon a member of the Department or a citizen. It is given to those who exhibited courage above and beyond the call of duty in saving a life or attempting to save a life, even if their actions placed them at extreme personal risk.

A Unit Citation is presented to Department personnel who, as a team, went above and beyond the call of duty in saving a life or attempting to save a life.

Certificates of Merit are awarded to any individual who exhibits courage in saving a life or attempting to save a life, and/or whose actions put them at significant risk.

A Letter of Commendation is granted to any individual for acts that were of unusual character requiring the initiative or ability worthy of recognition.

Exemplary Service Awards are given to those who have exhibited one of the Department’s six core values — integrity, teamwork, caring, courage, commitment and community — through their actions and work.





Skip to content